Sunday, July 18, 2010

EEOC to Celebrate ADA 20th Anniversary July 22

US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

Speakers to Discuss Landmark Disability Law

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) will observe the 20th anniversary of the Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA) on July 22 with two panels of civil rights experts discussing the landmark law.
Under the theme of “Celebrating the ADA: Looking Back, Moving Forward,” ten speakers, including EEOC officials and authorities on disability law and practice, along with the complainant in a key EEOC disability rights case, will explore the “nuts and bolts of EEOC work” as well as the ADA Amendments Act of 2008, which expanded the ADA’s scope. The agency will also present awards to current and former EEOC Commissioners and staff who played key roles in the passage of the ADA, promulgation of regulations and guidance under the ADA, and enforcement of the ADA.
DATE AND TIME: Thursday, July 22, 2010, 2:00 p.m.
PLACE: EEOC Headquarters, Training Center, 131 M Street, NE, Washington, DC
EEOC Chair Jacqueline A. Berrien
EEOC Commissioner Chai R. Feldblum
Wade Henderson, President and Chief Executive Officer, The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
Andrew J. Imparato, President and Chief Executive Officer, American Association of People with Disabilities
Randel K. Johnson, Senior Vice President, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Laura Hinton, National Outreach Coordinator, EEOC
Lisa Clinton Jones, Investigator, EEOC Baltimore Field Office
Allison Nichol, Deputy Chief of Disability Rights Section, U.S. Department of Justice, and Former EEOC Trial Attorney, Chicago District Office
Jean Kamp, Associate Regional Attorney, EEOC Chicago District Office
James Hill, Charging Party in EEOC v. Extra Space Management Inc.
John Mosby and Marilyn Cain Gordon, Class Counsel in Glover v. United States Postal Service
The presentation will also be live-streamed on the agency’s website.
The EEOC enforces federal laws prohibiting employment discrimination. Additional information about the Commission is available on its web site at

No comments: